Ikaho Kogane vs Shirogane Onsen: Choose by the Bath You Can Actually Reach
Comparisons

Ikaho Kogane vs Shirogane Onsen: Choose by the Bath You Can Actually Reach

Compare Ikaho’s iron-rich Kogane-no-Yu and clear Shirogane-no-Yu by water classification, public-bath access and day-use options at local inns.

Ikaho has two distinct springs. Iron in Kogane oxidizes and gives the older source its familiar brown colour; clear Shirogane meets Japan’s hot-spring threshold through its metasilicic-acid content. Kogane is easier to try at the town’s public baths. For Shirogane, check which inns accept day visitors and which bath they open.

The useful comparison is not which spring is “better.” Check the exact bath, water treatment and location first. One inn can use both springs in different tubs, while an individual guest-room bath may use only one—or may not use either spring at all.

What the two spring names tell you

Shibukawa City classifies Kogane-no-Yu as a neutral, low-tonicity calcium-sodium sulfate, bicarbonate and chloride spring. The brown colour comes from iron in the water oxidizing after exposure to air. It is the spring associated with Ikaho’s older hot-spring tradition and with the source-side public bath.

Shirogane-no-Yu is also neutral and low-tonicity, but the city classifies it as a cold mineral spring because its metasilicic-acid content meets the Onsen Act’s threshold for a hot spring. “Cold mineral spring” describes its source classification, not the temperature you should expect in a bathing tub. Check the bath’s own description rather than guessing from the spring name.

The colour is a useful clue, not a test. Kogane is known for its brown appearance, but bath lighting and water handling can affect what you see. Confirm the stated source on the facility’s current bath page. The source label also does not tell you whether the water is continuously flowing, circulated, diluted or heated—that varies by bath.

A day visitor will usually meet Kogane first

Shibukawa’s two best-known municipal day-use baths both use Kogane-no-Yu:

Kogane day-use bathLocation and hoursAdmissionConditions
Ishidan-no-YuOn the stone-step street; 10 a.m.–8 p.m., last entry 7:30 p.m.Adults ¥800 (about HK$40 / NT$165); children, visitors 65+ and eligible disabled visitors ¥400 (about HK$20 / NT$82); preschool children freeNormally closed the second and fourth Tuesday, moving to the next day if a holiday falls then; inspection closures can occur. Bring proof for a discount.
Ikaho Open-Air BathBy the Yumoto source area; about 3 minutes from Yumoto Town Bus stop or 18 minutes from the main Ikaho Onsen stop. Apr–Sep: 9 a.m.–6 p.m.; Oct–Mar: 10 a.m.–6 p.m.Adults ¥600 (about HK$30 / NT$124); children ¥300 (about HK$15 / NT$62)Last entry 30 minutes before closing. Normally closed the first and third Thursday unless a public holiday. No washing area; children under 1 may not bathe.

Both public baths are Kogane options, so a simple sightseeing day does not automatically give you a Shirogane soak. The Open-Air Bath is closer to the source-side scenery but requires a short outdoor walk and has no washing facilities. Ishidan-no-Yu is more central, but it is part of the uphill stone-step district. Choose by the rest of the day, not just by the spring name. This Ikaho bath guide covers private day-use alternatives separately.

Where to try Shirogane without booking a room

Some inns make Shirogane available to day visitors, but access rules differ. Two current official examples show how much the actual bath setup matters.

At Oyado Tamaki, the day-use public bath is open 11:30 a.m.–2:30 p.m.:

AdmissionPrice
Adult¥1,500 (about HK$75 / NT$308)
Elementary-school child¥1,000 (about HK$50 / NT$206)
Preschool child aged 2+¥700 (about HK$35 / NT$144)

Towels are included and payment is cash only. Baths normally close on Mondays and Fridays except holidays; day visitors may also be turned away on busy days, so call ahead.

Tamaki’s bath layout changes by time and gender. One large bath has both springs, while the other uses Shirogane; the sides switch at 8 p.m. Since day-use ends at 2:30 p.m., do not assume every visitor can use both sources in a single visit. Ask which bath will be open to you at your arrival time if experiencing both is the point of the trip.

Tamaki also takes bookings for two private baths. Their session charges are separate from admission:

Private bathSpring and setupSession charge
KoharubiyoriIndoor rock bath; 50 minutes; 100% free-flowing Kogane¥3,300 (about HK$166 / NT$678) per group
AkariOutdoor bath; 50 minutes; circulated Shirogane¥2,200 (about HK$111 / NT$452)
Tamaki private-bath admissionPrice
Adult¥1,000 (about HK$50 / NT$206)
Child aged 2 or older¥500 (about HK$25 / NT$103)

The inn takes advance phone reservations for fixed start times at noon, 1 p.m., 2 p.m., 6 p.m. and 7 p.m. Both day-use and private-bath payments are cash only.

Kaede to Ki (FUTOKI) offers another direct comparison. Both private baths run for 50 minutes and cost ¥3,300 (about HK$166 / NT$678) per session:

Private bathSpring
AmaneKogane-no-Yu
SoShirogane-no-Yu; water-treatment method not specified
FUTOKI day-use admissionPrice
Adult¥1,000 (about HK$50 / NT$206)
Child aged 2 or older¥500 (about HK$25 / NT$103)

Day visitors can book start times from noon to 8 p.m. by phone; the inn accepts cash only. FUTOKI describes Amane as free-flowing but does not specify So’s water-treatment method, so do not assume both baths work the same way.

These are bookable inn facilities, not walk-in public bathhouses. Confirm availability before setting out, and check the latest terms if travelling on a weekend or holiday. If you only have a few hours, one reserved Shirogane session may be simpler than trying to visit multiple properties. If the bath itself is not the main reason for staying, there is little need to chase both springs on one trip.

Staying overnight: compare bath by bath, not inn by inn

The tourism association’s lodging list names a property’s spring, but not always which source reaches its public baths or guest rooms. Oyado Tamaki makes the distinction clear: its Kogane private bath is free-flowing, its Shirogane private bath is circulated, and guest-room baths vary by room.

For a room with a private bath, check whether it uses spring water, which source it uses, and whether the water is circulated, diluted or heated. “Open-air bath” describes the room feature, not the water. See the Ikaho room-and-private-bath guide for bath details and the Ikaho stay-area guide for location and the walk back to your inn.

Choose Kogane for the traditional brown water and central public baths; choose Shirogane for a specific inn or private-bath plan. Comfort depends more on the bath temperature and water handling than the spring name. Shibukawa City advises starting with a short soak and taking care around hot water.

A practical choice in one glance

Your priorityA sensible first look
An easy-to-find day-use public bathIshidan-no-Yu for a central stop, or the Open-Air Bath for the Yumoto source area; both use Kogane.
A Shirogane soak without an overnight stayCall an inn with a day-use bath, such as Tamaki or FUTOKI, and book the specific tub.
Comparing both springs in one visitConfirm which baths are open to you at the booked time; a property listing both sources does not mean every guest can use both in one session.
Choosing a room with its own bathVerify the room-specific source and water treatment with the inn.

For a day itinerary, the one-night Ikaho route shows where the public bath and Yumoto area sit in relation to the stone steps. If you are still choosing a hot-spring town rather than a bath, compare Kusatsu and Ikaho first.

Sources and current bath details - [Shibukawa City: Ikaho spring classifications and bathing guidance](https://www.city.shibukawa.lg.jp/kankou/000357/000359/p000209.html) — source categories and official bathing advice; page updated May 8, 2026. - [Shibukawa Ikaho Onsen Tourism Association: history of Kogane-no-Yu and Shirogane-no-Yu](https://www.ikaho-kankou.com/aboutikaho/history/) — spring distinction and historical context. - [Shibukawa Ikaho Onsen Tourism Association: lodging list](https://www.ikaho-kankou.com/stay/ikaho/) — property-level spring labels. - [Shibukawa City: Ishidan-no-Yu](https://www.city.shibukawa.lg.jp/kankou-site/kankou/000357/000361/p003077.html) — current opening hours, admission, discounts and closure notices; [city facility-management report](https://www.city.shibukawa.lg.jp/manage/contents/upload/65fbcd22ac8f8.pdf) identifies Kogane-no-Yu as its source. - [Shibukawa City: Ikaho Open-Air Bath](https://www.city.shibukawa.lg.jp/kankou-site/kankou/000357/000361/p000219.html) — seasonal hours, prices, closure days and access from bus stops. - [Oyado Tamaki: hot springs and bath details](https://www.oyado-tamaki.com/spa/) and [day-use FAQ](https://www.oyado-tamaki.com/faq/) — spring by bath, water treatment, prices, schedules and day-use conditions. - [Kaede to Ki (FUTOKI): day-use private-bath notice](https://www.futoki.com/news/detail.html?CN=419511) — spring by private bath, current listed fees and reservation window; notice dated January 10, 2026. - [Shibukawa Ikaho Onsen Tourism Association: effects and bathing information](https://ikaho-kankou.com/aboutikaho/detail/) — association’s general spring notes.

Last verified: 2026-09-28