Choosing an Arima Onsen Ryokan: What Your Bath Access Actually Includes
Getting there

Choosing an Arima Onsen Ryokan: What Your Bath Access Actually Includes

Compare seven Arima ryokan by included public, private and in-room baths, spring type, child rules, transport and the full cost of each stay.

In Arima, “private bath” can mean a 45-minute reservation, a tub in your room, or a private bath that does not use hot-spring water at all. A ryokan may have both of Arima’s famous springs in its public baths while keeping them out of ordinary guest rooms. Those details matter more than a small difference in the nightly rate.

If you want to bathe together without paying for a premium room, start with Taketoritei Maruyama. Families who want public access to both springs may prefer Miyukisou Hanamusubi; adults looking for a quieter stay can compare Nakanobo Zuien and Takayamaso Hanano. Arima Grand Hotel has the widest choice of facilities, while Negiya Ryofukaku and Gekkoen Korokan suit travellers drawn to a wooded or riverside setting. The catch at each is different, so the short guide below focuses on what you can use with an ordinary stay—and what costs extra.

Room rates change with the date, guest count, meal plan, room and cancellation terms. There is no useful single “starting price” to compare across these properties; check the total for the same night and the bath setup you actually want.

Takayamaso Hanano, a small ryokan in Arima Onsen
Image: Takayamaso Hanano official website.

Seven stays, seven different bath arrangements

RyokanWhat an ordinary overnight stay gets youWhen privacy costs extraThe detail people often miss
Taketoritei MaruyamaAccess to eight private-use baths with Kinsen and GinsenNo extra bath charge for overnight guests; you still need a 45-minute slotThere is no large communal bath, and popular times can fill up
Miyukisou HanamusubiPublic baths with both Kinsen and GinsenHanagokoro, a private Kinsen bath, is ¥2,200 per person for overnight guests when not included in the plan; two people minimumA standard guest-room bath is not hot-spring water
Nakanobo ZuienPublic Kinsen and a complimentary private-use Ginsen bathJusen, the private Kinsen bath, is ¥4,400 per sessionGuests under 13 are not accepted
Takayamaso HananoPublic indoor Kinsen and outdoor GinsenThere is no bookable private bath; choose one of five specific suites for a private natural springChildren aged 12 and under are not admitted; the property has stairs
Negiya RyofukakuTwo shared bathing areas, including a public outdoor Kinsen bathTwo private Kinsen baths cost ¥3,300 for 45 minutes eachThe open-air and semi-open-air guest-room tubs are not hot springs
Gekkoen KorokanPublic outdoor Kinsen baths, plus access to sister inn YugetsusansoThree bookable private baths cost ¥4,400 for 40 minutes, but none uses spring waterNatural radon water is limited to selected guest rooms; standard room baths are not hot springs
Arima Grand HotelPublic baths on the ninth floor and B2, with Kinsen and Ginsen availablePrivate baths have separate water types and fees; one of the five is not a hot springIt is a large hotel with more facilities and people around, not a small, quiet inn

Kinsen (the “gold spring”) is Arima’s iron- and salt-rich water; Ginsen (“silver spring”) is the clear spring. A room listing that says “open-air bath” describes the tub, not necessarily its water. Check the specific room name and bath details before paying more.

Nakanobo Zuien in Arima Onsen

Spring type and bath water are different details

Kinsen and Ginsen identify spring types; they do not tell you the exact temperature or treatment of every bath.

PropertySpring and bath detailsWhat varies by bath
Taketoritei MaruyamaKinsen is an iron-, sodium- and chloride-rich, strongly saline high-temperature spring; Ginsen is a simple radioactive spring.Water handling varies among its eight private baths; dilution, heating, circulation and disinfection details are not specified bath by bath.
Miyukisou HanamusubiKinsen and Ginsen are available in the public baths; selected rooms have Kinsen.The source for each tub is not identified. A facility-level 42°C figure is not a confirmed bathing-pool temperature.
Nakanobo ZuienKinsen is an iron- and sodium-chloride spring; Ginsen is a simple, weakly radioactive spring.The 99.4°C Tenjin figure applies only to selected rooms connected to that source. Bath-by-bath handling is not specified. The seasonal low-temperature Kinsen period ran July 13–September 15, 2026, and has ended.
Takayamaso HananoThe public bath uses Kinsen from Dai-Shinrei and radon Ginsen; selected suites have one spring or both.A source-flow designation does not establish that every tub is source-flow. Ordinary guest-room baths are not hot springs.
Negiya RyofukakuPublic and private baths use Kinsen. Depending on the plan and supply, the source may temporarily be another Arima source or an FFP source.The historic Gokuraku figures—98.6°C, pH 6.4 and 51 L/min—are not current readings. Bath-by-bath dilution, heating, circulation and disinfection details are not specified.
Gekkoen KorokanIts Kinsen source is 31.2°C and heated; selected rooms use natural radon water. Two riverside baths at sister inn Yugetsusanso use flowing source water.Bath-by-bath dilution, circulation and disinfection details are not specified. Korokan’s three paid private baths are not hot springs.
Arima Grand HotelThe hotel has Kinsen and Ginsen: Kinsen is iron- and sodium-chloride-rich; Ginsen is a simple radioactive spring.Source readings of 97°C and 37.1°C are not mapped to named wells. None of the five private baths is identified as source-flow; Yuubae is not a hot spring.

For context on the terms used in these listings, see our guides to onsen spring quality and onsen water temperature.

Want a bath to yourselves? Decide whether a time slot is enough

Taketoritei Maruyama

This is the most straightforward choice if you want to share a natural spring without booking a premium room. Overnight guests can reserve one of eight private baths—four indoors and four open-air—after check-in. Each slot lasts 45 minutes and is complimentary. Both Kinsen and Ginsen are represented. There is no public large bath, and popular evening slots may be taken by the time you arrive. Tattoo rules are not stated clearly across all eight baths, so ask about the one you plan to use.

The ryokan sits uphill, about a 15-minute walk from Arima Onsen Station. Its free shuttle runs from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m.; call after reaching the station or bus stop. With luggage, the shuttle is the sensible choice.

Dinner service ends after December 30, 2026. From January 2027, the inn plans to serve breakfast only, so confirm meal options for your dates before booking.

Miyukisou Hanamusubi

An ordinary stay includes the seventh-floor public baths, with both Kinsen and Ginsen. Its private outdoor Kinsen bath, Hanagokoro, runs in 45-minute slots. Overnight guests whose plan does not include it pay ¥2,200 per person, with a two-person minimum; slots start on the hour. Availability may be limited by check-in, so confirm the plan in advance. Selected rooms have private Kinsen water, but the bath in a standard room is not a natural spring.

Nakanobo Zuien

Guests under 13 cannot stay. Those who meet the age rule get public Kinsen access and a complimentary private-use Ginsen bath with an interior lock. The private Kinsen bath, Jusen, costs ¥4,400 and needs a reservation. Selected higher-category rooms have a Kinsen or Ginsen bath, and one room type has both. Tattooed guests cannot use the public baths; ask about the exact private bath or room you plan to use. The Tenjin source reaches 99.4°C, a figure that applies only to selected rooms connected to it—not to every Kinsen bath.

Takayamaso Hanano

Hanano has no bath that guests can book for exclusive use. Its public Hoshi no Yu pairs an indoor Kinsen bath with an outdoor Ginsen bath. To soak privately, choose one of five suites with a natural spring: Oyama-renge and Sanshuyu have both springs; Yamaboshi, Hakkakuren and Futaba-aoi have Ginsen. The room premium buys privacy throughout the stay. Children aged 12 and under are not admitted, and the route from the car park to the entrance and public bath includes roughly 20 steps each. Hanano also excludes guests with tattoos from its baths.

Negiya Ryofukaku

Negiya offers two shared Kinsen bathing areas and two private Kinsen baths. Yuzuriha and Natsume cost ¥3,300 for 45 minutes; arrange a session at check-in, subject to availability.

Guest-room open-air and semi-open-air tubs do not use natural spring water. If a private natural soak is your reason for upgrading, compare an ordinary room plus a private-bath session instead.

Guests with tattoos may use the shared baths only when fully covered with a cover sticker, sold at reception from ¥330. Ask ahead about larger or multiple tattoos. The 2026 renovation and partial-operation period ended on September 18; check for any new closures or work before travelling.

Gekkoen Korokan

Korokan also separates privacy from spring water. Its three reservable baths—Hinoki, Cave and Wine—cost ¥4,400 for 40 minutes; none uses hot-spring water. For natural water in the room, choose a category that specifies radon spring water; a standard room bath is not a hot spring. Korokan’s public outdoor baths use its Kinsen source, while guests can cross to sister property Yugetsusanso for more baths. Its two riverside outdoor baths use flowing source water. Korokan’s tattoo policy is unclear; confirm before booking if it affects your stay.

Arima Grand Hotel

It has the broadest bathing menu, but not every private bath uses spring water. The ninth-floor Unkai lets overnight guests try Kinsen and Ginsen in the public baths; B2’s Yurari adds another large bathing area. Of the five private baths, Akane and Hatsune use Ginsen, Akebono and Asahi use Kinsen, and Yubae is not a hot spring. Selected rooms also have Kinsen or Ginsen. Guests with tattoos can use a public bath only if they fully cover one small tattoo with a 10 × 10 cm sticker. Ask about private-bath availability if that rule will not work for you.

For the big hotel’s public baths, room categories, private-bath rates and day-use plans, see Arima Grand Hotel. For Korokan’s bath circuit and shuttle, see Gekkoen Korokan: what to know before you book.

Families, adults-only stays and access

Nakanobo Zuien does not accept children under 13. Hanano does not admit children aged 12 and under, including infants. Families have more options at Hanamusubi, Taketoritei, Negiya and Arima Grand Hotel. At Taketoritei, children can use the private baths with their family, but a slot still needs arranging. Hanamusubi’s child facilities and room rules depend on the plan.

Arima Grand Hotel is the largest property in this group and has the widest choice of public and private facilities. Smaller inns may suit two adults better, but check the walking routes: Hanano has about 20 stone steps from its car park to the lobby and another flight to the bath. Negiya’s detached bath area is reached by about 30 steps. Ask about the route to your room and bath if stairs or long walks are difficult.

Arima’s slopes make shuttle hours and luggage as important as map distance. Taketoritei and Arima Grand Hotel have uphill approaches and free shuttles; call within the listed service hours to arrange pickup. Hanamusubi and Negiya also provide transport, but confirm the timetable and pickup procedure. Zuien is near the bus stop and offers local transport. See Arima access and mobility for slopes, shuttles and stairs, or the Arima day-trip guide for the walk from the station.

A quick shortlist by the kind of stay you have in mind

One shared natural-spring soak may be all you need. In that case, Taketoritei’s included private baths—or a paid session at Hanamusubi, Zuien or Negiya—may make more sense than a room with its own spring. You will, however, need to fit a 45-minute slot around check-in, dinner and other guests.

Want to bathe privately whenever the mood strikes? Look only at room descriptions that name the spring. A private tub is not proof of natural water. Hanano’s five spring suites and selected rooms at Hanamusubi, Zuien, Korokan and Arima Grand Hotel are different products; at some inns, the spring type changes from one room category to another.

For guests who are comfortable using gender-separated public baths, an ordinary room may do the job. Hanamusubi and Grand Hotel have public Kinsen and Ginsen; Hanano pairs one of each; Korokan’s public outdoor baths use Kinsen, with more pools at Yugetsusanso. Zuien includes public Kinsen and private-use Ginsen. Taketoritei works differently: all eight guest baths are private-use, and there is no large communal bath.

For couple-specific trade-offs, read Arima Onsen for couples. The family-versus-adults-only comparison covers age rules and group fit; if you are still weighing a day trip against a night in town, use Arima Onsen: day trip or overnight?.

Compare the full booking, not the headline rate

Before comparing two listings, line up the date, number of guests and rooms, room category, meal plan, child pricing, cancellation terms and payment conditions. Then add any private-bath fee. A standard room with a complimentary private bath is not the same product as a standard room with public bathing only, and an open-air tub may not contain spring water.

Bath schedules, room labels and availability can change; confirm the exact plan before paying. Taketoritei’s food-service change from January 2027 and Negiya’s renovation dates are time-sensitive, so check that both details still apply to your stay.

<p class="booking-disclosure">These are affiliate links. Yubiyori may earn a commission if you book through them. Prices, availability, meals, room names and cancellation terms vary by date and platform.</p>

Sources and image credits

Topics